Home   Categories   Grid

Subscribe Now

Have you been ‘recruited’ this summer?

Have you been ‘recruited’ this summer?

Have you been ‘recruited’ this summer?

12 June 2024

A colourful comedy is being brought to life with knowing looks and cracking outfits.


Downpour didn’t detract from charm of summer play

Downpour didn’t detract from charm of summer play

Downpour didn’t detract from charm of summer play

07 June 2024

Although Shakespeare is sure to have experienced miserable British weather, the downpour on this play’s opening night can’t be what The Bard imagined.


What to watch: Shoestring

What to watch: Shoestring

What to watch: Shoestring

06 June 2024

Poking fun at the sanctimonious was already a sport back in Shakespeare’s day.


Generous portions with a hearty side order of nostalgia

Generous portions with a hearty side order of nostalgia

Generous portions with a hearty side order of nostalgia

06 June 2024

A Sunday roast is a ‘proper’ dinner…but did the Ship’s offering float our boat?


From Bad Boys to Bikeriders, the hot movies to look out for this summer

From Bad Boys to Bikeriders, the hot movies to look out for this summer

From Bad Boys to Bikeriders, the hot movies to look out for this summer

31 May 2024

Our movie critic Gavin Miller previews the films to look out for this summer…


Thick, claggy, sticky cheese gets thumbs down from me

Thick, claggy, sticky cheese gets thumbs down from me

Thick, claggy, sticky cheese gets thumbs down from me

30 May 2024

A loud atmosphere and poor sandwich choice, left me unsatisfied and wishing i’d stuck with a different option.

4

Fresh-faced family-friendly restaurant offered dining just how I like it - the Italian way

Fresh-faced family-friendly restaurant offered dining just how I like it - the Italian way

Fresh-faced family-friendly restaurant offered dining just how I like it - the Italian way

16 May 2024

We got a ‘pizza the action’ at a delightful restaurant on the cobbled street of a village.

1

A room with a view and a half that’s a haven for dog walkers and wildlife lovers

A room with a view and a half that’s a haven for dog walkers and wildlife lovers

A room with a view and a half that’s a haven for dog walkers and wildlife lovers

25 April 2024

How about a cafe where every meal comes with a side order of a spectacular view? We went to see if the meals could match the setting at this venue.


Road rage builder thinks he’s James Bond and accuses me of being KGB agent… thanks to hilarious hypnotist

Road rage builder thinks he’s James Bond and accuses me of being KGB agent… thanks to hilarious hypnotist

Road rage builder thinks he’s James Bond and accuses me of being KGB agent… thanks to hilarious hypnotist

15 March 2024

With 12 wiling audience members put under the spell of a hypnotist at a town’s theatre, reviewer Jenny Beake describes the show as mesmerising.


What to watch: Visitors

What to watch: Visitors

What to watch: Visitors

13 March 2024

Four perspectives on life are portrayed with compassion in Shoestring’s current stage production of Visitors.


‘A taste test for British Pie Week? It’s a mission I was happy to accept’

‘A taste test for British Pie Week? It’s a mission I was happy to accept’

‘A taste test for British Pie Week? It’s a mission I was happy to accept’

04 March 2024

“Be at Vine House Farm for 3pm. Your contact will bring the package,” was the message from the newsdesk.


‘A mince pie brownie? In February?! Trust me, it works’

‘A mince pie brownie? In February?! Trust me, it works’

‘A mince pie brownie? In February?! Trust me, it works’

06 February 2024

Mince pies are not what you would associate with February – but a popular cafe has put a new twist on this festive classic and we gave it a try.


Is the vegan breakfast a gimmick or can it compete with a traditional full English?

Is the vegan breakfast a gimmick or can it compete with a traditional full English?

Is the vegan breakfast a gimmick or can it compete with a traditional full English?

01 February 2024

The Full English breakfast is a staple and household classic for lots of people – but is a vegan option better?

9

The best films of 2023 and why you need to watch them

The best films of 2023 and why you need to watch them

The best films of 2023 and why you need to watch them

26 December 2023

Our film critic names his top ten films of the year, while also naming the one he wish he hadn’t bothered watching.


Beauty and the Beast brought the magic of Christmas alive – review

Beauty and the Beast brought the magic of Christmas alive – review

Beauty and the Beast brought the magic of Christmas alive – review

21 December 2023

News editor Victoria Fear had the pleasure of enjoying the Polka Dot pantomime – and watching two young friends’ reaction to their first performance.


No jokes are cheap during this cost of living crisis as revue takes a satirical swipe at the world

No jokes are cheap during this cost of living crisis as revue takes a satirical swipe at the world

No jokes are cheap during this cost of living crisis as revue takes a satirical swipe at the world

14 December 2023

Few things set the tone for an evening quite like a sex pest medley.


A feelgood festive treat away from the drudgery of Christmas shopping

A feelgood festive treat away from the drudgery of Christmas shopping

A feelgood festive treat away from the drudgery of Christmas shopping

14 December 2023

Our reviewer, fed up with trying to find Christmas gifts on a busy shopping Sunday, sought out a festive feast.


Review: Aladdin at New Theatre Royal, Lincoln

Review: Aladdin at New Theatre Royal, Lincoln

Review: Aladdin at New Theatre Royal, Lincoln

11 December 2023

It was non stop laughs in what is perhaps the most enjoyable panto of the year — Aladdin at the New Theatre Royal, Lincoln


My take on full-house town comedy show headlined by TV star

My take on full-house town comedy show headlined by TV star

My take on full-house town comedy show headlined by TV star

27 November 2023

There were plenty of laughs when a well-known voice headlined a comedy night at a town’s theatre.


Christmas experience struck the right balance between enchanting and eccentric

Christmas experience struck the right balance between enchanting and eccentric

Christmas experience struck the right balance between enchanting and eccentric

18 November 2023

While the cliché that Christmas is about love is true, there is nothing like seeing festive lights twinkle and shine to get you in the yuletide mood.


MOST READ

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More