Home   Lincoln   Article

Subscribe Now

Lincolnshire and Rutland candidates for the July General Election confirmed

The candidates running in this year’s General Election have been confirmed.

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak announced the General Election on 22 May, giving political parties just six weeks to arrange candidates and revealing that people will head to the polls on Thursday, July 4.

There are a number of boundary changes this year, which see some new constituencies created in a bid to make them roughly similar sizes in terms of the number of people in each area.

Voters will go to the polls on July 4.
Voters will go to the polls on July 4.

In Greater Lincolnshire, for instance, 11 constituencies will change in name and boundary for this election, while six others will alter in size, and just one will remain the same as previously.

They include the former seat of Grantham and Stamford, which will now be split into two, including Grantham and Bourne, which will keep places such as Pointon and Harlaxton, but also gain areas like Fulbeck, Ancaster, and Heckington.

The new Stamford & Rutland seat will instead stretch to the south, covering the Oakham and Uppingham areas and including areas such as Great Ponton, Grimsthorpe, and Castle Bytham.

To the north, the previous Brigg & Goole constituency will be split into four separate boundary areas, including Goole & Pocklington, Brigg and Immingham, Doncaster East & The Isle of Axholme, and the Great Grimsby seat.

Lincoln, Sleaford & North Hykeham, Gainsborough, Boston & Skegness, Louth & Horncastle, South Holland & The Deepings, and Scunthorpe will remain for the 2024 election, but will include minor changes.

Although they will vary as time goes on, recent polls have shown significant changes in the political landscape ahead of the General Election.

A YouGov poll indicated that while the Conservatives are likely to retain many seats in Lincolnshire and Rutland, their majorities will be drastically reduced.

In Grantham and Bourne, the Conservatives face a tough battle with Labour, while Lincoln is predicted to become a safe Labour seat.

Despite the Reform Party's Richard Tice garnering attention in Boston and Skegness, the Conservatives are expected to hold the seat with a diminished vote share.

Nationally, Labour is predicted to secure a substantial victory with 420 seats, overshadowing the Conservatives' 140 and the Liberal Democrats' 48.

In the coming weeks, we will be putting questions to a number of candidates running for MP positions in Lincolnshire and Rutland.

With the General Election approaching, it is important for voters to understand where their potential representatives stand on key local and national issues.

From potholes to policy and tourism to taxation, readers have the opportunity to pose questions to these candidates.

To participate, email your questions to news@lincsonline.co.uk by 10am on Monday, 10 June.

Make sure to include 'Candidate Questions' in the email header and specify your constituency. Selected questions will be sent to the candidates, and their responses will be published at a later date.

Here are the Lincolnshire election candidates that have been confirmed today (It is advised to use a search function such as Ctrl + F on PC or the “Find Selection” option on iPhone to find your constituency):


- Karl McCartney (Conservative)

- Hamish Falconer (Labour)

- Clare Smalley (Liberal Democrats)

- Sally Anne Horscroft (Green)

- Jamie-Lee McMillan (Reform)

- Craig Marshall (Social Democratic Party)

- Linda Richardson (Workers Party of Britain)

- Laura Ashby (Ind)

- Charles Shaw (The Liberal Party)


- Sir Edward Leigh (Conservative)

- Jess McGuire (Labour)

- Lesley Rollings (Liberal Democrats)

- Vanessa Mary Smith (Green)

- Pat O’Connor (Reform)

- Tim Mellors (Social Democratic Party)

Grantham & Bourne

- Gareth Davies (Conservative)

- Vipul Bechar (Labour)

- John Vincent (Liberal Democrats)

- Anne Gayfer (Green)

- Mike Rudkin (Reform)

- Alexander Mitchell (Social Democratic Party)

- Charmaine Morgan (Lincolnshire Independents)

- Ian Selby (Independent)

Louth & Horncastle

- Victoria Atkins (Conservative)

- Jonathan Slater (Labour)

- Ross Pepper (Liberal Democrats)

- Robert Watson (Green)

- Sean Roger Matthews (Reform)

- Marcus Moorhouse (Social Democratic Party)

- Iconic Arty-Pole (Official Monster Raving Loony Party)

- Paul Hugill (Independent)

Boston & Skegness

- Matt Warman (Conservative)

- Alex Fawbert (Labour)

- Richard Lloyd (Liberal Democrats)

- Chris Moore (Green)

- Richard Tice (Reform)

- David Dickason (English Democrats)

- Mike Gilbert (Blue Revolution)

Sleaford & North Hykeham

- Caroline Johnson (Conservative)

- Hanif Ahmad Khan (Labour)

- Matthew Winnington (Liberal Democrats)

- Martin Blake (Green)

- Ben Jackson (Reform)

- Robert Oates (Lincolnshire Independents)

South Holland & The Deepings

- Sir John Hayes (Conservative)

- Paul Hilliar (Labour)

- Jack Braginton (Liberal Democrats)

- Rhys Baker (Green)

- Mark Le Sage (Independent)

- Matt Swainson (Reform)

Rutland & Stamford

- Alicia Kearns (Conservative)

- Joe Wood (Labour)

- James Moore (Liberal Democrats)

- Emma Baker (Green)

- Chris Clowes (Reform UK)

- Joanna Burrows (Rejoin EU)

North West Cambridgeshire

- Shailesh Vara (Conservative and Unionist)

- Sam Carling (Labour)

- Elliot Alister Tong (Green)

- James Sidlow (Reform)

- Bridget Smith (Liberal Democrats)

Corby and East Northamptonshire

- Tom Pursglove (Conservative)

- Lee Barron (Labour)

- Chris Lofts (Liberal Democrats)

- Eddie McDonald (Reform)

- Karen Blott (Independent)

- Lee Forster (Green Party)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More