Home   Stamford   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Brilliant season for Barnack Cricket Club

Barnack Cricket Club have enjoyed one of the most successful years in their 175-year history in 2023.

The first team remained unbeaten in Division One of the Rutland League on a Sunday and took the title by nearly 40 points from runners-up and reigning champions Peterborough Town.

On Saturdays, the first team won the Hunts League Division One and ensuring promotion to the Cambs Leagues for the first time in many years.

Barnack Cricket Club
Barnack Cricket Club

Success wasn’t restricted to the first team as the newly-formed second team gained promotion from Division Four after finishing in second place.

The midweek side enjoyed a fine season in the inaugural WAB Midweek League, finishing top of the table before narrowly losing to Nassington in the play-off semi-final.

The Over 40s, inspired by Ed Wass, won the Stamford Trophy and the club narrowly lost to Oundle in the final of the Burghley Sixes.

At the end of season, awards were won by Ajaz Akhtar, Shadzad Amir, Tanveer Hussain, Asim Butt, Amir Mughal, Ahsen Iqbal, Ali Zeb, Ben Farrer, Jem Allport and Ed Wass.

The chairman's award went to Muhammed Yaseen for his tireless work both on and off the cricket field.

The club would also like to thank their sponsors Maharanis Restaurant, PVS Audio and Sovereign Accountants for their support.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More